Home » History » Olabisi Onabanjo University

Olabisi Onabanjo University

The University is located at Ago – Iwoye in Ogun State with campuses spread over the State. The Health Sciences and Pharmacy are at Ikenne and Sagamu (Remo Campus), College of Engineering and Technology is located at Ibogun, (Egba Campus) Faculties of Law and Science located at the Mini Campus Ago – Iwoye, and the Main Campus is housing the University Central Administration and Faculties of The Social Sciences, Education, Arts and Management Sciences at Ago – Iwoye ( Ijebu Campus), while College of Agricultural Sciences is located in Ayetoro (Yewa Campus)

In addition to these Faculties and Colleges, the University has a number of academic and service oriented units, including the General Studies Unit (GNS), the Sports Centre, Institute of Education, Institute of Transport Studies, Centre for Sandwich Programmes (CESAP), Centre for Gender Studies among others.

In all, the University has produced over 20,000 graduates and diplomats since its establishment. These sets of graduates span a wide variety of disciplines and are making waves in all spheres of life. At the beginning, the University was lucky to have a selfless and committed Governing Council headed by Prof. Akin L. Mabogunje, a former Dean of the Faculty of the Social Sciences, University of Ibadan with Late Prof. John Olubi Sodipo as the Vice-Chancellor while, Chief Nathaniel O. Sotoyinbo was the Registrar, Mr B.B. Onigbinde was the Bursar and Chief Mrs Laide Soyinka was the University Librarian.

The focused and purposeful leadership given by this foundation management staff gave the university a sound footing that made it to stand the test of time. The University has since grown in age and size. Now, the population of the University has grown close to fifty thousand students including full-time, part-time and postgraduate students as at the 2003/2004 session.

Check Also

Nigeria’s Road To Nationhood 4

Time For Reflection   It is time to look back at Nigeria As A Nation …

Hit Counter provided by Curio cabinets